The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I just finished discussing one of the best books I have read this year at my book club: ‘The Help’ by Kathryn Stockett. This is a book that really takes you on a journey of many emotions; anticipation, tense, blood pressure rising, heart beating and bursts of laughter.

The Help is about African American maids working in white households in Jackson Mississippi in the early 1960s. It shows you the views and experiences of the maids and also the people that they work for. Some of the themes in the book reflect the author’s experiences of having an African American maid work for her and her family and the unanswered question of what it felt like to be black in Mississippi working for a white family.

The Author: Kathryn Stockett

What I like about this book is that it goes beyond racial issues. It covers courage, determination, unity, hard work, sickness, happiness, fear, risk, sadness and the reality of what it must have been like to live in Mississippi in the 1960s.

I was able to reflect on my life after reading the Help. Thanking God that as a people and as human beings we have all come along way. From Race relations to technology. It was also nice to see the views of different characters who were witnessing the same event. One thing that was clear from reading the book was that to get to, you have to go through and for change to happen sometimes you have to swim against the tide.

After completing the last page of the book I ended up lying in my bed feeling numb.  I sent a text message to my friend Tope with these words ‘Finished the book. Oh boy…I feel as if I just waved off loved ones at the airport.  I feel a little sad’. This truly sums up how great ‘The Help’ is.

I could say so much about this book but I will stop.

Get your Copy and enjoy this amazing read for yourself.

If there is one book you should read before end of the year (apart from the bible) , it is ‘The Help’.

If you have read ‘The Help’ please leave your comments and thoughts.

Stay Connected

NTJ

 

Leave a Reply

